Sign InSign Up
All Posts

Stages of Embryonic Development

Learn about the fascinating journey of an embryo from conception to birth and discover how the body develops in utero.


Embryology, the scientific study of fertilization and embryonic development, is an important branch of biology. Embryonic development is an incredibly complex process that involves a myriad of changes in an egg and sperm cell that ultimately result in a human being. This article will provide an overview of the stages of embryonic development and the major events that occur in each stage.

Stage 1: Fertilization

The process of fertilization marks the beginning of the embryonic development process. Fertilization occurs when a sperm cell penetrates an egg cell, or ovum, and the two cells fuse to form a single cell called a zygote. This zygote is the first cell of the embryo and contains the genetic material from both the mother and father.

Stage 2: Cleavage

The second stage of embryonic development is known as cleavage. In this stage, the zygote undergoes a series of rapid cell divisions, known as mitosis, to form a multi-cellular structure known as a blastocyst. The blastocyst is made up of two cell layers: the inner cell mass, which will become the embryo, and the outer cell layer, which will become the placenta.

Stage 3: Implantation

Once the blastocyst is formed, it must implant itself in the uterus in order to receive nutrients and oxygen from the mother. This process is known as implantation and occurs when the blastocyst attaches itself to the wall of the uterus.

Stage 4: Gastrulation

During gastrulation, the cells of the blastocyst migrate inward and begin to differentiate, or specialize, into specific cell types. This process results in the formation of three distinct layers: the endoderm, which becomes the digestive and respiratory systems; the mesoderm, which becomes the muscular and skeletal systems; and the ectoderm, which becomes the nervous system.

Stage 5: Organogenesis

Organogenesis is the fifth stage of embryonic development and is characterized by the growth and differentiation of cells into the various organs and tissues of the body. During this stage, the major organs of the body, such as the heart, lungs, kidneys, and intestines, begin to form.

Stage 6: Fetal

The fetal stage is the sixth and final stage of embryonic development. During this stage, the organs and tissues continue to develop and the fetus grows in size and weight. This stage lasts until birth, at which point the baby is considered a newborn.


Embryonic development is an incredibly complex process that involves a series of events beginning with fertilization and ending with birth. This article has provided an overview of the six stages of embryonic development and the major events that occur in each stage. Understanding the stages of embryonic development is essential for scientists and medical professionals who are researching and treating diseases related to fetal development.

USMLE Test Prep
a StudyNova service


GuidesStep 1 Sample QuestionsStep 2 Sample QuestionsStep 3 Sample QuestionsPricing

Install App coming soon

© 2024 StudyNova, Inc. All rights reserved.